Help:Cache

From Terraria Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Acorn.png This page in a nutshell: Bypassing your cache means forcing your web browser to re-download a web page from scratch, which can often solve website display glitches. Bypassing your cache is simple, safe, and causes no permanent changes. In some cases, purging the wiki's server cache may be required instead: Purging should be used sparingly, but is similarly safe and simple.
Bypass your cache
In most Windows and Linux browsers:

In Apple Safari:

  • Hold down and click the Reload toolbar button.

In Chrome and Firefox for Mac:

To speed things up and conserve communications bandwidth, browsers attempt to keep local copies of pages, images, and other content you've visited, so that it need not be downloaded again later. Occasionally this caching scheme goes awry (eg. the browser insists on showing out-of-date content), making it necessary to bypass the cache, thus forcing your browser to re-download a web page's complete, up-to-date content.

When you encounter strange behavior, first try bypassing your cache. In most cases you can use the simple instructions shown to the right. If this is not enough, you can try performing a "Purge" of Gamepedia's wiki server cache. Two common problems that can be attributed to Gamepedia's cache not updating are.

  • Images not changing after uploading a new version.
  • Item linking template not updating the exclusivity icons.

Purge[edit source]

Note: purging may take a few minutes, though it usually happens immediately.

Purge is a more substantial operation that updates a wiki page when templates and other transcluded content shown is out-of-date. Purge clears the page's server cache and rebuilds the wiki page display using the most current wiki database content.

For updating a page display, any purge methods do the job, but for updating category listings, a "null edit" (described below) may be required.

Note: Images at Terraria Wiki operate on a separate caching system that cannot be updated manually, and no method described on this page will have any effect on them. In order for images to properly update, the caching period must expire on its own, which generally occurs after 5-15 minutes — but can occasionally take even hours.

How to purge[edit source]

Purge link
Some pages provide a purge link. Simply click it. The {{purge}} template can be used to display a purge link on pages, but this should only be added in special cases where a page contains transcluded content that is likely to change.
Gadgets
There are also two Gadgets that can add a purge link to your wiki interface on every page. These may be enabled via the Gadgets section of your Terraria Wiki Preferences: UTC Clock and Purge Link.
Manually
All of the above methods use a special URL to purge the page. You can enter this URL manually using one of the following formats:
  • terraria.gamepedia.com/index.php?title=page_title&action=purge
  • terraria.gamepedia.com/page_title?action=purge.
Null edit
A null edit purges the page in the most complete way possible:
  1. Click the "Edit" tab at the top of the page.
  2. Click "Save" without making any changes.
This type of purge has the advantage of updating a page's placement in its various category listings, whereas other methods do not.
Help
 
Helping Out Contents • Starting a new page • Signatures • Editing (Sandbox • Test template) • Style Guide • Things to do • Proposed Changes • Projects • Creating animations
Tools DynamicPageList (DPL) • Lua scripts • Rollback • Visual Editor
General Info About • Rules (Video policy) • General disclaimer • Privacy Policy • Terms of Service • Administrator Guide • Cache
Contact Community noticeboard • Admin noticeboard